We caught up with host Meghan Trainor and head judge chef Marcus Samuelsson (winner of Top Chef Masters season 2) for an exclusive interview ahead of the competition.

Marcus, you’ve been both a Top Chef contestant and a judge. What’s your advice for the teams?

Samuelsson: These young chefs are amazing. So, I think, it would be to work together as a team, and have fun at the end of the day. If you’re too stressed out about it, you can’t execute. Go for the dish and the concept that you really planned out doing. Have your game plan and go for it. We’ve had incredible challenges, but this [Restaurant War challenge] is definitely the most complex with the most moving parts: teamwork, running a dining room, expediting.

Meghan, you’re new to Top Chef – how would you describe your hosting style?

Trainor: I’m just being myself. We’re having a lot fun, and I’m learning a lot. I’m never afraid when they say a new word that I don’t know to be like, What are you talking about? What is umame?

What’s your signature phrase?

Trainor: “That was bomb!” I say that a lot.

How is it judging? These are kids aren’t professional chefs …

Trainor: I’m way too emotionally involved. I literally cry when kids go home. Samuelsson: When we judge them, they’re all chefs now. They’re amazing. Just like other kids play baseball or go to soccer practice or take singing classes. These are young budding chefs. And they’re amazing. They’re just super talented. Trainor: It’s cool because they can do it with a family member. That’s the best, watching teenagers. That’s the hardest age to get along with your parents, and they not only have to get along, but they have to cook something amazing and collaborate. And it’s so good watching that.

There must be some family drama playing out in the kitchen, too.

Trainor: Sometimes. We’ll let them know, like, Hey, we can taste that you’re not together on this. We can tell by the meal.

If you were to compete on the show, which family member would you want to team up with?

Samuelsson: Meghan’s family! Can I say that? Meghan’s dad. Trainor: If I had to pick someone in my family, it would be my dad. My mom’s great, but she burns a lot of stuff. Samuelsson: Or maybe Meghan’s brother. We’ll be late to every competition, but we’ll come out great in the end. Tune in tomorrow to see what the contestants come up with—and how they fare. Next, Gail Simmons Gives a Sneak Peek Behind the Judges’ Table on Top Chef

Watch a Sneak Peek of Top Chef Family Style Restaurant Wars  2021  - 5